power breakfast

I like to make food, unlike what feels like 75% of America. Which I still do not understand why this is so hard people. As one of my favorite bloggers Samantha Irby said in her book “Meaty” (please read, it is awesome): “bitch, you are telling me you can’t read and follow directions?!”

Anyway, I was discussing protein powder with my friend yesterday, yes these are things I talk about with friends, and discovered that Cellucor has this awesome blog with protein powder recipes. Since I just bought their PB marshmallow flavor (amazing), I decided to try these. I made a few changes based on what I currently had in the kitchen and also just personal preference. Cause Splenda, barf.

PB Marshmallow Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Ingredients:
– 1 scoop PB marshmallow protein
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
– 1 tbsp tapioca powder
– 2 egg whites
– 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
– 1/3 cup almond milk
– Dark chocolate chips

I prepared the dry stuff in a ziplock the night before, because I was bored, but my brain takes awhile to wake up in the AM so this also decreases the chances of me forgetting an ingredient. Good idea for any of you folks that like to save some time and prep beforehand. I am talking to you fellow DC commuters squeezing onto that first orange line train, just to save the 2 minutes you would have to wait for the empty one behind it.

the dry goodies
the dry goodies

Directions:
Mix all except chips in Vitamix. Heat skillet with some olive oil to medium. Pour batter in small cakes and sprinkle in chips, add a little batter to cover (so chips aren’t on bottom when you flip). Flip after 2-3 minutes. Remove after another 1-2 minutes and enjoy. Feel free to top with syrup, or almond butter (shown here) or maybe mix some peanut butter and agave nectar to make  your own syrup, get creative kids.

quoting my friends reaction this morning: NOMNOMNOMNOM
quoting my friends reaction this morning: “NOMNOMNOMNOM”

Yes, I am aware my finished product is not some perfectly rounded, browned cake. But guess what? They still taste good. It is not my fault that I am broke and cannot afford new pans that have better non-stick coating until my next paycheck rolls in… the struggle is real people.

Eat healthy my friends,

Em

Leave a Reply

