10 minute breakfast

So I found this protein pancake recipe on Pinterest somewhere, tweaked it a little and made it my new favorite pre-workout breakfast. Also good for fuel on days I know I am going to be really grinding out and will need the energy. The best thing about it? It is simple and only takes about 10 minutes to prepare.

The list:
1/2 c rolled oats (I used Bob Mill’s Gluten Free)
1/2 c water
1 scoop of your favorite protein (here I used Cellucor Whey, S’mores flavor)
1 egg
1 tbsp. PB2
1 tbsp. almond milk

What to do with the list:
Mix the oats and water and cook in a microwave for 90s (that is 1 minute and 30 seconds for you terrible math people). It should be pretty thick so all you people who love runny oatmeal can just chill out right now. Let it cool just a little bit so you don’t cook the egg too much when you add it in. I actually like to add the protein first, and then add the egg. Once all 4 of those are mixed well you should have nice, thick batter. Heat a skillet to medium-high (about 7/8 mark on my stove) with a little olive oil or other oil of your desire. Spread the batter around evenly in the pan. I use a perfect 8 in one so it hits the edges perfectly.

Pancake perfection
Pancake perfection

Cook until it is a good golden brown on each side (about 2-3 minutes per). While it is cooking prepare your “syrup”. Mix the PB2 and milk together, it should be at consistency that can easily be poured. Once the cake is cooked, drizzle that goodness over top. BOOM. Breakfast is served.

You might want a glass of milk or, like me, some coffee to wash this down with.
You might want a glass of milk, of like me, some coffee to wash this down with.

Now time for me to eat and go up to the gym for some glutes and hamstrings… aka working on that shelf today.

Keep it real,

Em

 

 

Leave a Reply

