1, 2, 3, 4 hours…

I have a pretty laid back relationship with my massage therapist (mind out of gutter folks). By that , I mean I am pretty open with letting him know what’s going on in my life, the more he knows the more he can assess where I’m holding stress in my body. Since I know he is a very well-read individual I asked him to share a couple self-help style books that would be good reads for me. One of the first ones he mentioned was The 4-Hour Body by Tim Ferris. At first this sounded pretty absurd. This man claims to know the most efficient way to have fat loss, and even mentions that you can prevent fat gain while binging on holidays and weekends amongst a couple other interesting lessons from his book (see them listed on his site here). I figured I would try this whole fat loss strategy out for myself.

According to Ferris the rules are pretty simple:

Consume:
– Lean meats (chicken, grass-fed beef, turkey)
– Fish
– Spinach
– Vegetables (especially cruciferious ones like Bok Choy, Kale, Broccoli and Cauliflower)
– Beans (especially black beans and lentils)
– Eggs (1-2 whole, or Egg Whites)

Do not consume:
– Fruits or Fruit Juices
– White carbs (or anything that could be white)
– Dairy

The more basic you keep it, the better. Not saying you have to sacrifice flavor for fat loss. In fact adding salsa and spices to meals is encouraged in order to keep you in check. The other thing to note about this plan is that you are encouraged to binge one day a week on this plan. My favorite thing though? Drinking red wine is A-OK on this plan. 🙂 If you want the nitty gritty details I suggest you order the book. Feel free to keep up with what I am eating, I will try to post some foodie pics along the way. I am almost two weeks in at this point, and here are the numbers so far:

Starting Point: 159 lbs. (I put on a few in the last month since the end of tri-training)

End of Week 1: 154 lbs. 25% BF (I should have checked this at start but it was probably close to the same)

Week 2 and beyond: TBD.

I will note that I bought some pants from Gap over Black Friday, they just arrived yesterday and my size 8’s are feeling a little loose (oops, perhaps should have waited until after this whole ordeal). Excited to see more downward progress (downward in a GOOD way).

Eat well,

Em

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

