just keep swimming

So Week 4 into training and I have hit the pool a total of 3 times. I know I planned on twice a week, but given my social life (yes I have one) I was in Boston two weekends ago for St. Patty’s Day madness and got caught up with a lot of work this past week, so no swimming for me (enjoying life is about being flexible people). Before I explain my workouts though, let me tell you the tale of me and swimsuits. I have been rocking a Nike two piece tankini fitness suit for oh… 6 years maybe? My mom bought for me when I started lap swimming at Maryland. Aesthetically there is nothing wrong with it and I am extremely impressed with how well it has held up over so many years. But a few weeks ago I thought if I wanted to get serious about my training I should update my gear, right? Wrong, oh so wrong. I decided to shop TYR since I have their brand of goggles and LOVE them. I purchased the below swimsuit.

the suit. it looks much better here than on my body.
the suit. it looks much better here than on my body.

Nothing against TYR, in fact I am sure they work well for many other individuals. Not this girl. First though was “putting two pounds of shit in a one pound bag.” Then I thought I should come up with a nicer idiom, so I literally Googled “fitting something big into something small.” So here are some nicer suggestions to get my point across:

  1. Fitting a camel through the eye of a needle.
  2. Fitting a boulder in a teacup.
  3. Driving a round peg through a square hole.

Got it? Okay. So needless to say, no new swim gear for this girl. For now. I just discovered the hard way that trying to shimmy into a one piece with these shoulders and butt will never work, and that is OK. Tankini fitness suit it is. One day I may even go for a two piece fitness suit. I began my first few swim workouts with just a standard 20 laps of freestyle in the pool (about 1000 yards). According to a lot of training sites this is okay to start, but you will plateau very quickly if you do not incorporate other drills into your swim workout. Since I need to step it up (only one month out from my first event), I decided to try this workout based off one I found on the USAT site.

  • 3 x 100 (2 laps) warm up with 10-20 second rest between (for my “rest” I typically wait until I catch my breath, count to 5 and then start again)
  • 2 x 100 freestyle moderate
  • Rest
  • 2 x 50 (1 lap) pulls (buoy between legs to isolate the arms and work on stroke) *sidenote, if you try this don’t be discouraged by the fact that you look like a fool. You do. So do I. It’s cool.
  • Rest
  • 2 x 100 freestyle moderate
  • Rest
  • 2 x 50 pulls
  • Rest
  • 2 x 100 freestyle hard
  • Rest
  • 1 x 50 kicking
  • 1 x 50 easy

So 1200 yards total today (although Suunto will tell you 1150 because it doesn’t count the kick boarding). I will try to push to 1500 total next time, with hopes that by end of April I am doing 2000 yard workouts. stay afloat, Em

Leave a Reply

